Uncategorized

New Year, Same Me…With Some Improvements.

What a rollercoaster 2016 has been. Not just for me, but I think for everyone.

So many beautiful celebrities were taken from us and attacks -both terrorist and unprovoked shootings- wreaked havoc in our society… it seemed every single time we switched on the television to watch the news, something terrible had happened again and people were in mourning. This is the sole reason I really don’t like to watch the news. As a languages student, we are encouraged to read the news in the languages we study on a daily basis, but that, to me, s just three times the depression of having to read sad articles and news stories.

It would be so incredibly easy to focus on the horrible things that took place this year- human beings have a bad habit of doing this, I’ve found. However, there is so much to be grateful for. The simple fact that we made it through the year and persevered no matter what crap was thrown at us is a huge thing in itself.

So that is what we need to keep in mind for this year coming. To keep going, smile, and get on with it. We can’t know for sure, this year could be even worse than last year, but life is all about rolling with it, after all, there really isn’t anything else we can do.

Personally, I have a few resolutions, which I’m going to post here to be able to keep myself accountable and make sure I don’t stray from my goals.

  1. I am giving up the chocolate. I know, I know, how un-original and cliche right? But I really want to try this year and see if I can make it through the trials and tribulations life will give me this year without scoffing any of this delicious brown sweet. Maybe I will, maybe I won’t, but at this moment in time I’ve lasted 20 hours. Out of my entire year. I think it’s a good start to be honest.
  2. I’m going to continue my journey as a yogi. In a future post, I will talk about my 30 day yoga challenge that I did in December, and how it affected my behaviour and mood. I’m going to take this new habit and bring it into the new year, to hopefully keep my spirits high in times of stress, and to be able to check in with myself from time to time.
  3. I need to learn to say no. Growing up having to please my mother constantly has made me a neurotic, overly stressed 22 year old, because I spend my life trying to keep everyone else happy and feel like a terrible human when I can’t do something someone asks me to do. This, I’ve found, has in turn made me incredibly unhappy, and the more everyone else around me is content, the more I withdraw into myself and can’t face the world because I’m thinking about other people’s problems. So, this year is the year I start saying no to people. Not in a rude way of course, but if there is something someone asks of me that is too financially or time-taxing, I need to be able to decline and focus on making myself happy. This is probably going to be the hardest resolution of all- I have spent the last twenty two and a half years being a pushover, so its not like this is going to be an overnight transformation. But assertive I need to be thus assertive I will try and become.
  4. One rest day from time to time is okay. I love exercise, but to the extent that it’s a bad habit. I had a rest day in November, but only because I was cripplingly hungover and couldn’t physically move. Ask my best friend who I was complaining to, I was more upset about not being able to run than actually being sick and bed bound because of drinking too much alcohol. That rest day was my first one since the 21st July, 4 months before, and my body needed it. I have gotten into a routine of telling myself I need to exercise, even just a little bit, every single day, or I feel ill, but have come to realise I won’t be able to fully enjoy life if I don’t take some time for my body to rest every once in a while. So, my goal, at least for the first ix months of the year, is to take at least one rest day a month. This might seem ridiculous to some people, but for me, it’s actually a huge thing that I already know will be very hard for me and is already making me feel anxious. To get over this anxiety, I’ve noticed that I feel a tiny bit better if I plan what day I have off. At least then, the feeling of laziness I feel on the day won’t be as bad because I’ll have seen it coming.

And that is all of them! I feel like having too many resolutions will make me lose track and motivation, so these will be enough to keep me focused and allow me to grow and evolve as a person in the next 365 days. These resolutions aren’t about changing who I am, rather, improving this sightly faulty version of me that got way too run down in 2016, and tweaking my relationships, from people being to reliant on me being a pushover and easy to control, to seeing me as an equal who has the right to say no to things. Follow me on this journey, and let’s see if the lack of chocolate will drive me crazy!

Happy New Year everyone, and if you guys have made resolutions, may you succeed in achieving them!

 

C x

Leave a Reply

