Health

A promise to myself and a goal to achieve. 

To get us through the next 6 weeks without each other, my boyfriend and I wrote down some goals that we would each achieve before we saw one another again. 

Some were silly- for example, I have to start watching and finish all of the available episodes of House of Cards. One season in and it’s already too intense to deal with. If someone else dies, so help me God I’m tapping out. 


He’s a super slow reader (nothing wrong there but it’s frustrating to see when I can get through a book a week), so he’s set himself up with a couple of books to start and finish while he’s away… something that sounds so easy but I know will challenge him. 

And then there were the ‘real’ goals. Something that we would both find difficult to do as we would have to put our all into it. For him, he needs to be able to hold a 10-15 minute conversation in Spanish with me when he gets back, and me… I’m trying to go as many days in the 6 weeks without purging. 

That’s right.

My goal is to try and overcome this disease that has been making my life hell for the last year and a half. 

I want to savour my food. Enjoy the things I cook for myself and stop seeing certain foods as harmful or taboo. It’s kind of shitty eating a bowl of noodles you’ve been craving and feeling you need to punish yourself for it. I want to be able to enjoy the thrill of eating something naughty!

So far, I’m 4 days in. If I take it day by day and not worry about what’s happening in a week’s time, maybe I’ll be able to conquer the 38 days I have left! 🤞🏼

2 thoughts on “A promise to myself and a goal to achieve. 

Leave a Reply

