Health · Personally

The people you work with make all the difference.

In February I started a new job in a local restaurant and, though I don’t want to be a waitress for the rest of my life and I also do not agree with the way the place is run, I was fortunate enough to meet a great bunch of people with whom I work… Louise, my friend from a previous job (I poached her from that other job because she’s mine and no one else’s and because she’s amazing), Hannah, a girl who has so much in common with me and who has such delicious advice to give to me no matter what situation I find myself in; Adam, a 20 year old who has absolutely no shame, but the best sense of humour; and Tom, the most laid back, cool-as-a-cucumber person I have ever met.

tenor-3

It’s true. Friends at work are so important to a healthy working life. Whether or not you love your job, if you don’t enjoy spending time with the people you work with, it becomes more and more difficult each day to drag yourself out of bed and go into a ten-hour shift where you need to be in close proximity and make conversation with them.

Trust me… I’ve been in so many situations where the mood I’m in walking into work has depended solely on who has been rota’d in with me- if I don’t get along with someone, or feel intimidated or uneasy around them- then obviously I’m not going to want to be in the same workplace as them!

giphy-4

The people you spend time with affect how you feel. Spend ten hours a day with someone you can’t stand and your mental health will deteriorate like a bad banana.

Spend time with people you love and can have a laugh and a decent chat with, and your working day will fly by and you won’t even realise you’re working.

So, the long and short of it is… find a job you love, yes, but don’t forget that the people you work with is also a factor that needs to be taken into considerations. Surround yourself with arseholes and you’ll feel like shit every day.

C x

2 thoughts on “The people you work with make all the difference.

    1. That sounds horrid! What do you do? I would try my very best to find people close by to pal-up with or make sure I had someone on messenger or something to chat to! I don’t do well being alone ha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

